Badge Shield Star Awards Dinner

Saskatoon's emergency response agencies will join with the Saskatoon Rotary Club this evening for the Badge Shield Star Award Dinner.

The dinner, in it's 11th year, now includes the Saskatoon Police Service, Saskatoon Fire and Protective Services and MD Ambulance. Each year the Rotary Club hosts the dinner in recognition of the work done by emergency personnel. In turn, the emergency agencies take the opportunity to honour citizens who have provided them assistance.

Ivadelle and Syl Kulyk, have been chosen by the Saskatoon Police Service as the 2008 Badge Award winners. They have been long-time supporters of policing. Beginning with their billeting of new recruits and in more recent years, serving as dedicated police volunteers at many community events.

Mercedes Wayman, is the recipient of the 2008 Shield Award Winner for Saskatoon Fire and Protective Services. Ms. Wayman worked behind the scenes for many years on the "Denny Carr Secret Santa" program. Since Denny's death in 1998, Ms. Wayman has taken on greater involvement and has been the Executive Director since 2002.

Jessie Bosch is the recipient of the Star Award for MD Ambulance. Ms. Bosch attempted to assist the victims of a tragic traffic accident at the intersection of Grasswood Road and Preston Avenue in the summer of 2007. Ms. Bosch risked her own safety to come to the aide of the three people involved.

The award winners will be honoured at the Badge Shield Star Dinner, Wednesday, March 12th at TCU Place.